Why Did It Take So Long To Cook Pulled Pork

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

joeb23

Original poster
Apr 2, 2017
Hi Everyone.  I am brand new to smoking meat.  I have not taken the 5 day course yet but definitely will. We have the Traeger Pro series 34 grill.  Being new I decided to follow the recipe for pulled pork step by step out of the Traeger cookbook to insure success.  We bought a 7 lb bone-in pork shoulder roast.  I dry rubbed the meat and put it in the refrigerator overnight.  The instructions say to cook allow about 1.5 - 2 hours per pound.  The instructions say the meat should be done when it reaches an internal temperature of 190 degrees.

After heating up the smoker to 225 degrees, I put the meat in at 5am.  It "should" have been done by 7pm(Latest).  At 9pm the temperature was at 181 degrees(16 hours!!!).  We finally said the heck with it because we were starving and pulled it out.  We used what I think is a good quality thermometer (Thermoworks DOT).  Do you think the thermometer could be bad?  Is the smoker not functioning properly? (The digital display in the smoker showed the proper temperature give or take a degree).  Any suggestions on a better thermometer?  Any thoughts on why the meat took so long to cook?

I think I am going to start my house oven and see if the thermostat is close to what I set the oven temperature to.  If that is accurate then I will do the same with the smoker.  Has anyone experienced this problem?  I told my son next time we will cook with smaller slabs of meat.

Joe

Short answer, it's meat and cannot be cooked to time, it has to go to temperature, and sometimes that takes a long time.