Waving Hello from SW VA

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

hungrysmoking

Original poster
Mar 19, 2014
SW Virginia,USA
Hey yall as title says im in SW Virginia,names Glenn,aka HungrySmokinG ,been living here for about 25 years or so but grew up near Lexington NC,which I consider to be one of the BBQ capitals of the world.Im a former Owner-Operator Trucker so i was fortunate to be able to travel this great country and sample BBQ and smoked foods in a lot of places.In my opinion ITS ALL GOOD IF ITS DONE RIGHT! Thats one reason I felt like I was in Hog Heaven when I found this site,cause as Ive observed you guys know how to get it right.I appreciate TulsaJeffs hard work and dedication to this site and this passion we all love.Ive been smoking/grilling/BBQing about most of my life but always felt like I was missing something to take it to next levels.I currently use a CharGrill barrel offset smoker,charcoal,splits and chunks with it.Got a MasterForge(MasterBuilt) 31' model#20071214 electric smoker last year which I got at Lowes.So far am happy with it but still learning its intricacies.Smoked a 12# turkey friday and it turned out good.Used cherry,apple and a little hickory.First time doin whole turkey on electric although have done one on wood smoker.Didnt brine this time but injected and rubbed.Like I said its all good if done right and with love.I mostly have smoked and cooked pork shoulders and ribs in the past but am always wanting to try something new.Also have turkey fryers but all that oil is just not cost effective for me.I love cooking.EATING,smoking/grilling,music and reading,which I usually do on a long smoke.Thank you all for the invite and for being here and so gladly sharing your knowledge.Im not much on so