1. Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Tri-tip

Discussion in 'Beef' started by Jerry Lemmens, Jan 10, 2019 at 1:05 PM.

1. Jerry Lemmens

Jerry Lemmens Newbie

Finally got my password reset I guess I'm a newbie again anyway made a tri tip yesterday,it was to die for, first decent smoke of beef on my Camp Chef woodwind question is what's the next cheaper meat that's kind of like a tri-tip roast I paid 9 bucks a pound thought that was kind of steep sure was tasty though thanks for any replies and suggestions see if this message thing works

2. bmudd14474

bmudd14474 Smoking Guru Staff Member Administrator Group Lead OTBS Member SMF Premier Member

$9 a lb is high for tri tip. You could do a Chuck roast or brisket. Both should be far cheaper than the tri tip you purchased.

3. Jerry Lemmens

Jerry Lemmens Newbie

Thanks much

4. Jeff Wright

Jeff Wright Smoking Fanatic SMF Premier Member

Wow. I can get tri tip on sale here for $3.99/lb. It is one of my go to's when I want something flavorful and quick.

I agree with Brian about the chuck roast. Comes out very tender.

5. gmc2003

gmc2003 Smoking Guru OTBS Member

Glad it turned out well, but ouch that's expensive. Where do you live Jerry?

Chris

6. weev

weev Smoking Fanatic ★ Lifetime Premier ★

Glad yours turned out good, Im getting one started for tonight.
    Here in the middle of Michigan they arent that easy to find either and the ones you do find are usually marinated and usually around 9 to 10$ a pound unless you order them by the case at Gordon food service. Briskets can be found for 2.99 to 4$ a pound but pork is usually the cheapest for us

7. oddegan

oddegan Smoking Fanatic

I'm in West Michigan and they typically cost $9 a pound. Any cut of beef is fairly expensive around here.

8. sandyut

sandyut Meat Mopper