Smoking With Corn Cob Pellets: Pulled Ham

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Sven Svensson

Master of the Pit
Original poster
OTBS Member
Dec 5, 2021
Sonoma County, California
Smoking with corn cob pellets was something I just learned about. Threads about it are easy to find and Pops has one with 20K views. I found a 40 lb bag early this week for $10 at Tractor Supply Company and yesterday was the big day. I used a mix of 1 part Knotty Wood Plum and 2 parts BestCob Premium Horse Bedding (yeah, you read that right). Many of you wrote about the nostalgic smell and taste of bacon and ham smoked with corn cobs. Even though I’m a former Minnesota farm kid I have no experience with that. So my experiment was going to be based on how it worked, smelled and tasted to me in this pulled ham cook.

I had a pork shoulder ham I took out of the brine and put in a ham sock as it had a lot of floppy parts thanks to a rushed butcher. I used the cob and hardwood mix in my Yoder pellet grill. I could immediately tell the corn cob pellets were producing much more smoke than I was used to seeing. There was never that subtle “line of thin blue smoke.“ The smoke smell was much stronger than using just hardwood pellets but not off-putting. Getting to the point, it was a 12-hour cook. I put the ham in a cooler overnight and pulled it early this morning while it was still very warm.