Smoking tenderloin tips for pulled pork

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

kevinjay

Original poster
Sep 22, 2022
Hi, my first post here and I am a newbie at smoking. I have searched the threads but cannot find a specific answer I am looking for. I am making pulled pork for a group which I have done many times using a slow cooker and soaking in Root beer and bbq sauce. I wanted to try something different this time but our local store did not have pork butt. Pork tenderloin was there so I substituted. When I opened it up this morning, I found they were actually tenderloin tips. I have them sitting with a dry rub right now and know that tenderloin cooks fairly quickly being recommended at 225 for about 2 hours.

What I want is to smoke them for an extended period at a lower temp, something like 150 to get more smoke in. They will be wrapped in tinfoil and then popped into the slow cooker tomorrow. One thread I found did not recommend this due to bacteria not being killed but since I am doing a second cook almost immediately, I am not too concerned about that for this. Are there any recommendations, cautions or others experiences doing anything like this? I know I can just cook them and shred them but I really like doing pulled with root beer as it makes everything very juicy and most.

Thank you!

I did this a long time ago, so it can be done. Tenderloin and Pork butt are different types of meat and are cooked to different temps. Lean tenderloin is finished in the 140-145 area, while the fattier pork butt can finish at temps above 200+ before it falls apart and is ready to be pulled.