Sausage newbie question

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

buckscent

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Jul 6, 2010
B'ham Alabama
so I made my first sausages. One long casing full. I twisted and have several links now. So now what? If I cut the twists the ends will be open. So how do I get individual links?? Thanks.

they shouldn't open if you twisted them , most of the time we don't bother to twist them at all, just cut them to the length you want they should be fine in the smoker

You can twist them again after you cut maybe. So you lose a couple ounces.. just twist again after the cut. Even open ends won't really matter . It will fry or cook up ok.

So do I smoke/fry them before I cut them? I’m not questioning, believe me I am a newbie but seems logical to me if I twist something in the middle and then cut it you will have 2 untwisted open ends.

Last edited:
its not going to leak out no matter when you cut them ....unless you added a LOT of water before you stuffed them

I like then and let them sit over night then cut and they usually hold the crimp. I know 1 member that takes butcher twine and puts 2 ties in and then cuts between them.

Reactions: chopsaw
I like then and let them sit over night then cut and they usually hold the crimp. I know 1 member that takes butcher twine and puts 2 ties in and then cuts between them.
I do the same . Let sit over night , and have also used the double tie with twine . Do not cut and re twist . Depending on the type of sausage you made , and the moisture content you may have a mess if you don't let the sausage set up first .

we never add water to our sausage . and they aren't very hard to stuff so i wouldn't think that would be your problem