• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Salmon Smoker

kenaismoke

Joined Feb 1, 2014
Hey out there! I'm glad to join this community of smokers and foodies. I am a trained chef with 20 years experience in the restaurant biz and an active food blogger. I use only a little chief for my smoking and other than smoking clams once, halibut once, and turkey once I smoke Alaskan salmon exclusively. Having lived on the Kenai River for years(back in the 80's and 90's) I have smoked  Pink Salmon, Red Salmon, Silver Salmon and King Salmon(my fav) and have messed around with different wood chips but mainly use apple/alder mix. I usually brine in the teriyaki marinade for 6-8 hours, then air dry for 2-4 hours before firing up the little chiefs. I consider myself an expert salmon smoker(with 30 years of smoking) and am happy to help you all in any way I can to get a tasty salmon treat.

cmayna

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Joined Jun 23, 2012
Welcome from one Salmon smoker to another.  I have two Big Chiefs which are dedicated to King Salmon since the wife catches a butt load during the season.  Where are you now located?

gary s

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
Joined Jan 6, 2011
[h1]
Hello and welcome from East Texas. This is a great site, lots of information and great people that are willing to throw in their two cents worth on about anything.   
[/h1][h1]  [/h1][h1]Gary[/h1]

kenaismoke

Joined Feb 1, 2014
I live in North Baltimore, Maryland, but go back to Alaska every year to fish and smoke. The great thing about vac-packed hot smoked salmon is that it last for well over a year.

cmayna

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Joined Jun 23, 2012
I'll be Salmon and Halibut fishing up there in the fall.  See you then

Latest posts

Hot Threads

Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected