Salmon and wood chips

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Atl1530

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Jun 6, 2019
Atlanta
I’m new to this so if I asked stupid questions be nice.

While I wait for my A–maze-N tube and pellets to get here, I thought I would try my (new to me) electric smoker on some Salmon. I have some wood chips so I might as well try using them.

My thought is that I would try to smoke the salmon at a low temp for an hour or so and then finish it on the grill.

So the question is how low of a temperature can I set my electric smoker too and still get adequate smoke from the wood chips?

Thanks

What smoker you got? And also depending on outside temperature, you could get enough smoke at lower temperatures as well.

My question is, would you want to just finish the salmon in the smoker instead of transferring it to a grill? Smoked salmon is so good!

**let me add that what i mean by outside temperature is that if its cold out, the smoker will have to "work" harder to keep temperature meaning more smoker but if its hot outside, at lower temperatures, the smoker will not work as hard meaning less smoke

It's about 83º.
I have a MASTERBUILT SMOKEHOUSE that looks like the attachment.

My thinking is that salmon would be easy to overcook and dry out. Also, I am cooking a bunch that I would like to vacuum pack, freeze, and cook at a later time. It seems like if the salmon were smoked but undercooked, this would be easier.

Attachments

• MASTERBUILT SMOKEHOUSE .jpg
    MASTERBUILT SMOKEHOUSE .jpg
    55.8 KB · Views: 4