Rotisserie chicken on a Weber 22" kettle

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

robrpb

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Jul 15, 2020
Royal Palm Beach, FL
I decided to smoke a chicken on my Weber 22" kettle using the rotisserie today. I used SPOG to season the chicken and for the fire I used oak logs. I am still learning how to manage the wood fire, but I was pleased with the results. The only problem was the skin was not crispy, but I blame myself for that becuase I didn't leave the chicken uncovered in the refrigerator overnight. That was because I was planning to cook the chicken differently and changed my mind this morning. Other than not having crispy skin the chicken was very tasty and moist. Thanks for looking.

Rob

Attachments

• Chicken 1 - 2021-03-14.jpg
    Chicken 1 - 2021-03-14.jpg
    93.6 KB · Views: 41
  • Chicken 2 - 2021-03-14.jpg
    Chicken 2 - 2021-03-14.jpg
    96.9 KB · Views: 46
Looks great to me, any way to fit 2 birds on it?
Thanks Mike. I haven't tried, but I believe there is room for two chickens. I have attached a photo from the first time I used the rotisserie and you can see the extra room on each side.

Attachments

• Chicken 3.jpg
    Chicken 3.jpg
    153.1 KB · Views: 45
Fantastic piece of work Rob, huge like! Spinning a yardbird on a Weber the way you did takes some real talent, looks great, really impressive. RAY

Reactions: robrpb
Rob nice job on the yard bird, I love spinning poultry
Richie
Thanks Richie. I have only done three chickens this way and I enjoy the smoke flavor. I need to learn how to better control the fire to smoke both ends evenly.