Rib Help

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Matt Plumb

Original poster
Apr 15, 2018
Hello. I am new to smoking and this was just my second smoke ever. I got a masterbuilt electric smoker for Christmas. I need some help, points, or tips and tricks. The first time I smoked ribs I only did one rack. I don’t remember the poundage, but it was a smaller rack and fit on the shelf in the smoker with about a centimeter on each side. I used the daggum good recipe on masterbuilt where I smoked for two hours, wrapped for two, then 30 minutes of bbq sauce. They were absolutely amazing. Fall off the bone. I mean fall off the bone. I literally pulled the bones right out and had a slab of perfectly juicy amazing ribs. After that today i had a different experience. This time i did three racks and a tinfoil pan of beans. These ribs were bigger and were sort of bent as they were longer. I did them the exact same. However they were not as juicy and were not fall off the bone. What went wrong and what do I need to change? Do bigger ribs need smoked longer or shorter? Because they actually seemed over cooked which makes no sense as they were cooked at the same temp and same time and were bigger. Should i use more smoke or keep them wrapped longer? Only two differences were more items and I bought meat from meijer the first time and kroger the second. Could the meat just not be as good? Lastly, i forget to mention but I smoked at 225. Thank you!!!

Matt,

Congrats on the new smoker!

The ribs you smoked were they spare ribs or babyback ribs?