Pleased to Meet You

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

goatbiker

Original poster
Feb 10, 2014
I've been grilling for many years on a Kingsford egg-shaped grill, which was retired just last night with a ceremonial last batch of ribs. The fire grate had turned to dust and the unit is no longer made.  Gave us a good run for 20 years, though.

After far too many recent evenings and late nights reading 'Meathead' Goldwyn's excellent Amazing Ribs website, I am replacing the 'egg' with the perhaps-not-too-highly-respected Masterbuilt 7 in 1 gas/charcoal smoker.  I have not truly settled on gas or charcoal, and I hope this 'starter' unit will let me experience both.  I also have hopes of starting large pieces of meat on the charcoal, with lots of smoke, and finishing the long run with gas (did I mention that I am way too tired of feeding briquettes into a cooker, trying to chase a moving temperature?).

Though the cooker isn't a high end piece of hardware, I have ordered the Maverick 733 dual-probe temp gauge, and their quick-read handheld. Finishing off the list of hopefully cool stuff is the Pitmaster IQ fan unit, to hold the charcoal at a steady temp. It gets ordered in two days when the smoker arrives and I can determine which connection will work best.

I figure if the smoker is a bust, I'll still have good tools for the next one.  About the only consistent complaint I have read about the 7 in 1, is that it is made with thin metal and doesn't last.  Cabela's sells the unit in stainless steel, so if I love it, I can upgrade and have it forever.

I am looking forward to learning tons about smoking, and making real BBQ.