Pellet Tube in Propane Grill - Bad Aftertaste

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Alex208

Original poster
Feb 20, 2018
Hey Everyone,

Newbie here so go easy on me. Currently I'm living in an apartment with restrictions on the types of grills we can use. I can have a propane grill but no charcoal grills or smokers. I got approval to use a pellet tube in my propane grill (similar to the one in the picture below) to add some smokiness to the foods I'm grilling.

The other day I grilled some chicken on the lowest setting. After it got some initial searing over direct heat I moved the chicken to the top rack of the grill to let it finish cooking slower. The chicken definitely absorbed the smoke but I'm getting this bad lingering wood/ash aftertaste. I was hoping you could help me pinpoint the problem.

The propane grill has no top vent (it only has a hole on each side at the bottom) so I'm guessing that the smoke/creosote is accumulating at the top. Maybe I should have left the meat on the lower grates and cooked with indirect heat (leaving only 1 or 2 burners on) instead of placing them on the top rack? Maybe I'm getting too much smoke? I used the Traeger hickory pellets in the tube if that matters. Also I placed the tube over a double layer of heavy duty foil so the flames below didn't make it burn.. it just smokes on its own. Does anyone else use this method?

pel2.jpg