Pecan wood from farm question

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

smokingowl

Original poster
Aug 14, 2010
Texas
I am new to smoking, so I have a question about some pecan wood I received. I have an uncle who gave my a bunch of pecan wood that has been sitting for about 8 years. The wood is from pecan trees that were used on a pecan farm. One guy there told me about the chemicals used while the trees were alive to protect from disease, bugs, etc. Does this now make the wood unsafe for smoking? Is all wood like this? Should I just not use it or can I just cut the outside off and use the rest of it? Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

In my opinion any orchard wood you use (apple, pecan, peach etc) will have chemicals used on them at one time or another.  I think your biggest concern should be if the wood is rotten by now.  Eight years is a long time for smoke wood to sit in the weather, or under an overhang for that matter.  The good thing is that any chemicals are most probably wash away, degraded by now.

Thanks for the quick response. How can I tell if the wood is rotten? What would happen if I used rotten wood? I wouldn't but just curious.

If its rotten it will just burn up fast. take a screwdriver and poke it. does it seem solid or does it flake off?  If its solid or parts are solid use those parts. I wouldn't be afraid to use it.