Newbie Introduction

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Backwoods Bill

Original poster
SMF Premier Member
Feb 7, 2022
Hi All

I am a newbie and do not have a smoker as of yet. I am looking to get one in the next 6 months or so. I really love smoked meats, smoked sausage, smoked cheese , smoked fish etc. I can’t wait to get into smoking it just sounds so fun and the results are fantastic!

So I’m trying to decide which one to get and am willing to look at all options. I am seriously considering dipping my toes into the water before I go all out. I was looking at a Weber Smokey Mountain, but then got introduced to a Bradley P10 then a Texas Original Pits Luling. These are all very different smokers with different heat sources and very different price points! The Bradley P10 seriously intrigues me however, it has proprietary smoking puck that you can’t get anywhere else And seems expensive. Plus there are some with quirks with the inputs on the controller, child lock, and other stuff, and temperature probes with reading actual temp versus set temp. However it seems like a great smoker.

The Webber Smokey Mountain seems very straightforward and can maintain a perfect temperature most often and has great reviews. Whereas, the Texas Original Pits seems to be a top of the line smoker but it’s probably beyond my price point at this time! But it seems to make excellent barbecue and I’m sure they all do.

I am always looking for advice and if anyone wants to chime in about buying a smoker with pros and cons I would very much appreciate it!

I am here to learn and have fun. Living in a very rural area of North Detroit! With 2 boys (16 &11) a beautiful wife and a dog Who will always eat my mistakes! Ha ha