New to the Forum - Buying an MES with AMZNPS this week

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

derrickhokit

Original poster
Sep 17, 2013
Creston, CA
Hi Everyone,

I am new to cold smoking and electric smoking although I have been oak fire smoking for quite a long time.  I am a 25 year old married with 2 kids and live on the central coast of Ca.  

I have seen the mods on here as well as all the different talk about the many models of smokers. It seems to be the  MES that is the number 1 choice. It also matches with my budget ( witch isn't much right now) as well as does everything I want it too. I will be purchasing the MES 30 as its only $177 for the digital model right now. 

I am also planning on purchasing the AMZN Pellet Smoker. I want this so I can cold smoke as well as not refill the wood chamber constantly. I am hoping I wont have to mod anything with the dry climate that I am in. 

My dream would be to open it up, season it, fill it with my recipes, lite up my AMZNPS and close the door and walk away. I am a realistic person though and know nothing ever works that easy for me. 

Any advice is completely welcomed, I thank you all for all the time and posts you have done as it has made my adventure into smoking much more entertaining and easy. You all have great opinions and awesome product knowledge. Also , my first item to smoke this weekend is a 12 pound brisket. Who has the best recipe, wood recommendation, temp recommendation? Any hing helps :)

Thanks guys I am very happy to be apart of your community!

welcome1.gif
to SMF!  We are so glad you joined us! Would you mind updating your profile to show the other SMF members where you are located?  Might meet a few neighbors!