Need some helpful hints for my next beef brisket on pellet grill

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

gmiller818

Original poster
Jan 8, 2018
Hey guys,

I'm new to the smoking world...been grilling for years, but smoking is new to me. I recently acquired a Pit Boss Pellet 8 in 1 smoker/grill. I tried smoking a 15 lb (pre-trimmed weight) beef brisket last weekend @ 225* degrees, with some success, but I was really surprised at how quickly the meat came to full temperature. From everything I had researched, I was expecting the brisket to have an initial smoke time of 8-12 hours to get to 165* degrees, followed by a foil wrap for an additional 3-5 hours. After about 6 hours, I checked the internal temperature for the first time, and to my surprise, it had already reached about 180* degrees. I pulled it from the grill at that time and wrapped in foil and returned to smoke for a couple of more hours. When I checked the temperature at that time, it was already at about 208* degrees. I then let it rest for 2 hours prior to serving. For the most part, the meat was delicious, however there was a really hard layer of bark on the bottom end (the point side, I believe) which came out way too hard and not really edible.
Does anyone have experience with pellet grills...and should I expect them to smoke meats much faster than everything I read online, which is mainly geared for traditional type smokers?
Any constructive criticism on what I may have done that caused a section to come out really hard on the brisket?
Does an overall time of 9 hours seem way too soon to completely smoke a large brisket? I purchased the cut from Costco @ 14.8 lbs and probably trimmed 2 lbs of fat from the meat or so...