need help on picnic smoke

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jodyfj40

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jun 12, 2013
Guys I am cooking 4 picnics that average 6-7pounds and u would like to serve them around 6:00 Sunday night. Just wondering from the more experienced guys when should I put them on the smoker to allow for enough time to cook and rest. Also should I cook at 225 250 or 275? Thanks for all your help.
Jody

I am not very experienced but I have made a few picnics and butts with a time limit and my most predictable temp has been 300 or there abouts. Might sound high but it comes out so juicy and tender an the bark is crunchy, which I like. It's about an hour a pound. And maybe allow two hours more total and then foil, towel, and cooler it. Will stay warm for a long time like that. Another option it you want to stick with low and slow is to cut the picnics in half ( not always easy to do perfectly) but it helps you cut down on the total time and gives you more bark which everyone loves. Hope this helps

Thanks worktogthr I have been trying to work my way up in temps. Do you spritz for moisture since you don't foil? Thanks again

I too was scared to take the high heat plunge. It's usually a time thing for me. I have a young daughter and a wife who would kill me if I spent 20 hours messing around with a piece of meat haha so the hot and fast is a convenience that produces an end product that is just as good in my opinion as low and slow.

Sounds good I just might give it a try with this cook. Thanks again for the help

Getting things started jeffs rub and eastern nc sauce read to go. Not sure why i can't get my pics to post. Just say memory to low to complete action.

Let's see if this works
Thanks timberjet