Need a good sauce for burnt ends

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

scvinegarpepper

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Feb 23, 2010
Lowcountry, SC
I'm still learning how to do brisket. But I haven't done a full packer yet and tried burnt ends. But I'm dying to. I was hoping someone could give me some good ideas for a sauce. I know a lot of people just dust heavily with rub. But I kind of want to try some with just rub and some with rub and sauce. I want something a little sweet, but not too thick to it doesn't overpower it. Thanks in advance! College football is finally back! Time to get the cookers firing. Nothing better than SEC football and smoking.

Do you have a BBQ sauce you are proud of?  Burn't ends are great with a thick, sweet bath of good BBQ Sauce. 

Last edited:
SC, I would agree with alblancher. Nothing beats burnt ends smothered in a nice thick favourite sauce.

With that said, I'll add that a smoked brisket point nekkid is better for burnt ends than one that was heavily rubbed. Just an opinion, and I lean towards just cbp and some salt on my brisket .....didn't used to be that way, but we evolve.

As far as sauce, my favourite is Curley's out of Hutchinson, Kansas, but there are good ones all over. Find one you like and stick with it. Toss the burnt ends in a bowl to cover well, and then drain the excess sauce from them. I promise this wiil give you a better burnt end, and again, I didn't used to do this.

Burnt ends are a treat, and the meat flavor should come through instead of being drowned out by rubs and sauces. Plus, I still stick with cheap white bread slices for the ultimate sammy, with Funyons on the side!

Last edited: