MES 30" Temperature Zones Part 2 of 2

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
Another thing I noticed was temp probe variation. I had both the Auber and Morpilot probes on the smoker back wall right next to each other and was getting 10 to 20 degree difference in readings. I then moved both probes to rack clips setting side by side and got 10+ degree difference. Next I had the probes in rack clips facing each other with there tips almost touching and still I got a 10+ degree difference. Throughout all my messing around I would think that one of my probes must have gone bad so I would switch probes on the Morpilot and or test all the probes. Each time I tested the Auber probe and the 6 Morpilot probes they all tracked up and down in temp just fine and read 32 degrees in ice water and 204 in boiling water which is perfect for my elevation.
Yesterday I smoked a 5" chub of Tallbm's venison pastrami and decided to hang the probes off of the top rack so they would be hanging about 1/3 of the way down the chub right next to each other and I also clipped another probe to the bottom rack holder so it was sticking out into the smoker box just above my cookie sheet drip pan and wouldn't you know it all three probes read within a few degrees of each other all day long. As I type this I have 2 slabs of Bearcarvers bacon smoking away with the same probe set up and the Auber and Morpilot probes that are next to each other are reading the same and the probe at the bottom of the smoker is reading 5 degrees higher then the two at the top which is perfect considering there is a slab of pork taking up a whole rack between the two.