• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Maverick et-732

tyotrain

Master of the Pit
2,407
19
Joined Mar 31, 2010
Using my maverick for the first time today. I love the range like everything about it. The only one thing I don't like is my probe will not fit throw my eyelet's so have to go throw top vent or under the lid.

Smoke-N-Dave. Tapatalk iPhone
 

fife

Master of the Pit
1,010
12
Joined Mar 14, 2011
I used mine for the first time yesterday and enjoyed being able to see the temp and time.Good luck
 

bmudd14474

Legendary Pitmaster
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Group Lead
8,828
1,572
Joined Jun 1, 2008
Its def a improvement over the ET73
 

tyotrain

Master of the Pit
2,407
19
Joined Mar 31, 2010
I wouldn't say worthless I like it a lot. The range on it is real impressive.


Smoke-N-Dave. Tapatalk iPhone
 

tyotrain

Master of the Pit
2,407
19
Joined Mar 31, 2010
[quote name="The Dude Abides" url="/forum/thread/104555/maverick-et-732#post_608465"]
Can you just drill a bigger eyelet?
[/quote]

I was thinking that I will have to play with it some. It's on a wsm think I got the eyelet at guru.


Smoke-N-Dave. Tapatalk iPhone
 

SmokinAl

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
47,625
8,173
Joined Jun 22, 2009
I have those same eyelets and I was thinking of getting a Maverick. I wonder if BBQ Guru is aware of this problem? I have 3 different brands of temp probes and they all fit through the eyelets.
 

oldschoolbbq

Legendary Pitmaster
OTBS Member
9,361
200
Joined Jul 16, 2008
No problemo ,Ty


Actually I shouldn't complain as I haven't post a pic in a while
my stuff got all messed up and I'm in the process

of getting it going
.

Have fun and;

 

DanMcG

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
5,490
2,250
Joined Feb 3, 2009
Thanks for the feedback Dave, I 'll  be going to the 732 as soon as I can find some extra money.
 

sqwib

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
5,964
1,028
Joined Sep 25, 2007
Just tried mine last night.

Funny that the temp settings start at 174° I think 120° would have been better.

It is definitely a nice unit and worth every penny.
 

tyotrain

Master of the Pit
2,407
19
Joined Mar 31, 2010
Here is a few pics





as you can see it will not pass throw.. :devil:
Smoke-N-Dave. Tapatalk iPhone
 
Last edited:

DanMcG

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
5,490
2,250
Joined Feb 3, 2009
Funny that the temp settings start at 174° I think 120° would have been better.
Time out here boyz,

the lowest temp it reads is 174°? or am i reading this wrong?
 

sqwib

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
5,964
1,028
Joined Sep 25, 2007
Time out here boyz,

the lowest temp it reads is 174°? or am i reading this wrong?
Sorry about the misleading statement, let me clarify;

When you go to set your minimum and maximum temps you can only go up from 174° you have to cycle past the highest setting and back through the lowest setting.

Like some clocks if you need to adjust the time from 2pm to 1pm, you cant go backwards you have to go the long way, got it?

Its not a big deal but was curious why 174°?
 
 

DanMcG

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
5,490
2,250
Joined Feb 3, 2009
Thanks SQWIB, but  you just confused me more.


Let me ask it this way.

If I want to monitor smoker temps for sausage making will the 732 read 100° F and up to 200° ?

Thanks. Dan
 

tyotrain

Master of the Pit
2,407
19
Joined Mar 31, 2010
Thanks SQWIB, but  you just confused me more.


Let me ask it this way.

If I want to monitor smoker temps for sausage making will the 732 read 100° F and up to 200° ?

Thanks. Dan
setting HI maximum Barbecue temperature.. The maximum barbecue temperature range is 140F - 572F and the default setting is 176F

Setting Lo minimum barbecue temperature.. Temperature range is 32F - 554F and the default setting is 50F..

 Hope this helps ya
 

tjohnson

Smoking Guru
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Insider
5,600
139
Joined Dec 29, 2009
I asked the same questions from my rep at Maverick, and that's just the way it was designed.

That said, once you set your Hi/Lo settings, they are saved in the memory for the next time.

Minor PITA considering all the improvements over the ET-73!!

Todd
 

smokeamotive

Smoking Fanatic
709
15
Joined Jul 1, 2009
I just got finished using my ET 7. This thing keeps losing its comm after @ 20 min. Then I have to go out and reset the thing , then it might work for another 10 min. Has this problem been corrected with the 732? If so I'll have to break down and get one.
 

venture

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
6,949
73
Joined Aug 1, 2008
I have only used my ET 732 about three times.  I have had no communication problems once it is originally synchronized.  Range is very good. On and off switch has been improved.  In my limited experience, it works fine and shows none of the problems commonly associated with the old ET 73.  Do not, use the belt clip feature on the receiver.  The belt clip will come apart and dump your receiver on the floor!  Other than that, this ET 732 is the unit I have been waiting for.
 

Latest posts

Hot Threads

Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.