Masterbuilt Power Failure

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

carolinacasey

Original poster
Jan 28, 2017
Upstate SC
Good evening all,

I got a Masterbuilt Sportsman Elite 30" as a gift a couple of years ago, and have used it, along with recipes and temp recommendations from this forum, with great success. Yesterday I picked up some pork chops, from a local small farm. Very fatty, from a pig breed called Kune Kune, apparently known for high fat content. I'd hoped to smoke them today, but when I pulled out my smoker and plugged it in, I got a single beep from the control panel, and then nothing. I tried basic things like unplugging and replugging, different outlets, etc., to no avail. When power is initially supplied, the control unit beeps once, but the panel remains dark. Nothing I did seems to have any affect. I did take the control panel off, in case I might see something obvious, but the panel is basically sealed, with to groups of control wires coming out, to where the plug into wires going down into the unit itself.

I'm ok with basic problems, but am not an electrician. Anyone know what might cause something like this, or if it might be an easy fix? It lives outside, but is on the porch, under cover of the roof, and it has a cover over the smoker itself, so I don't think weather has affected it. Spiders occasionally get inside and spin webs if it sits for more than a week or two, but I don't see how that would affect the sealed electronics.

I've really been enjoying the smoked meat life, and am at a loss. Grateful for any ideas of what might be going on, and how to correct the issue and get us back up and smoking again.

Thanks!

Casey