Looking to retire my MES 40 for a Pellet Grill

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

splendorlex

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Jun 18, 2013
Lake Geneva, WI
I know that there are many options, but I thought I'd like to hear some recent opinions. (And I figure we have quite a few people with a new piece of Christmas Equipment around!)

A little background. I've been smoking for over 10 years now, and my 2 current machines are a 22" WSM and a 40" MES. I like the WSM, but it's a lot more effort to get going and keep going for cooks, and I like having something like the MES around for when I just want to skip a few steps! The problem is I've had to replace the heating element in my MES twice, and there are signs it's getting set to go out again. I'd also like something that has better heat control AND can get a little hotter. The MES maxes out at 275, and honestly it rarely actually reaches that.

Budget wise, I want to keep it under a grand, but I'd also gladly pick up something even cheaper if it was well regarded. I just want something that works. I have a family of five, and rarely have to do big cooks for parties and such. (And even then it's a couple pork butts and a few other things.) So I don't need a huge cooking surface. Something I can at least get 3-4 racks of ribs on, or a couple pork butts, I think you get the idea.

I've looked at a few options:

Traeger Pro 575 - I like the sound of it, but it's on the high end of my price range. At that level I'd like something that I could also use to truly sear something.
Recteq RT-590 - Looks pretty similar to the Traeger as far as features/capabilities