Jack Daniels Meatloaf AND Bacon Weave?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

GrumpyGriller

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Jan 29, 2021
I am planning to make a smoked and stuffed (with cheese) this weekend. It's going to be a Jack Daniels Whiskey infused loaf, with JD mixed into the beef/pork mixture as well as in the sauce. I am strongly considering a basket weave on top simply because it's bacon.

My question is will the bacon overtake the flavor (not that that is bad)....just don't want to waste good whiskey :)

With due attribution, this (modified as always) is the base recipe:

Thanks

Wouldnt think so......But I'm no pro. Looking forward to pics of your cook. Love me some smoked 'loaf.
Jim

Wouldnt think so......But I'm no pro. Looking forward to pics of your cook. Love me some smoked 'loaf.
Jim
Thanks - I will post when it's all done...

Making the Smoked Meatloaf, Pulled Teriyaki Chicken, Dr, Pepper Ribs, Chantilly Potatoes, Smashed Potatoes, and Mexican Street Corn Casserole :emoji_alien:

Maybe It's just me but whiskey in anything but a glass is a waste
You use a glass ? Hmm .
I use it in sauce , mostly for chicken . I always boil the alcohol out first .
Doesn't take much to get some flavor from it , but I understand what you're saying .
I will post when it's all done...
Sounds good .

Reactions: motocrash and PPG1
The bacon will not overpower the meatloaf. It will help keep it from drying out. You can also pour a little JD over the bacon.

aking the Smoked Meatloaf, Pulled Teriyaki Chicken, Dr, Pepper Ribs, Chantilly Potatoes, Smashed Potatoes, and Mexican Street Corn Casserole

Sounds like a nice batch of good food