How to attain TBS on a Masterbuilt 30 inch.

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bakerman

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Nov 19, 2011
Columbia Maryland
Hey Smokers,

I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask this but here goes:

I am brand new to this way of cooking and wanted to find out if there is a fool proof way of getting and maintaining TBS on this model smoker?

Do you start with charcoal and then add the wood chunks? Do you soak the wood chunks? Wrap them in foil?

I am planning on getting a 8 in cast iron skillet for my wood because the one I got with the MB 30 is junk and the wood caught fire. I even double wrapped it in foil and it still burned up.

For now I have apple and cherry chunks I picked up at HD. I have to find a better source for fruit wood chunks as well.

Still haven't smoked anything yet but this coming weekend I may do something tasty.

Thanks for any replies.

B

I can solve your problem in a heartbeat. Anyone who owns an MES should have one of these

http://www.amazenproducts.com/

Get the pellet version as it can handle both sawdust and pellets. Works great for both hot and cold smokes

yeahthat.gif