Hi. I'm a newbie. I watched some youtube videos about turning my gas bbq into a smoker......

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

rickyd123

Original poster
May 21, 2017
And I figured I'd give it a try. Everything seems simple enough. I have a couple questions though. I'm going to be smoking a pork loin roast. It weighs 1.8 pounds. I'm going to try and keep my grill temperature between 225 and 250 degrees.

Here's my questions: How long should I plan on having to smoke it until it's done. Should I use a meat thermometer to check the meats temperature towards the end to ensure the meat is fully cooked or are there better ways to tell. How long should I soak my wood chips before using. I bought Hickory wood chips from Walmart. I got the 5 day ecourse, and I was planning watching it and buying a smoker, but I figured what the hell after watching the youtube videos.

Pork loin is pretty simple to cook, smoke, grill, etc.  Use indirect heat and smoke/cook the meat until the internal temp of the pork loin roast is 140-145F.  Depending on size of the roast, 2-3 hours. 

I smoked a brisket on a propane grill. Came out delicious. I realized it was better not to soak the chips. There was some flavor but not a lot. It was just to late into that I realized dried chips would have been better. Good luck!

It was the best piece of meat I've ever cooked. I'm a new smoker. Now and for the rest of my life. I'm planning my next attempt right now. Boneless chicken breast. I think they need to be cooked to 165 degrees, but I'm not sure. I'll have to find out. The pork roast was delicious though. Thanks everyone for all the help.