Hi. Electric newb here.

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

CErb1987

Original poster
Feb 28, 2018
So I am not a complete newbie to smoking. I have a small flower pot smoker that I haven't done anything to modify it. Its a twelve inch diameter at the top with a 10 inch grill. Still havent mastered how much charcoal and wood etc. Still gonna mess with it cause I really like the way it cooks when I do use it. My smoked salmon always cooks too fast but hey still learning.

However I'm thinking of getting a masterbuilt 30, either the 20070910 or the 20071117. That or a char-broil deluxe 725. Now I know the masterbuilt has some issues and I will likely eventually have to repair it. Some people use theirs for years with no problems but I don' trust my luck that far.

So I would like to know what I need to do to make it smoke better and be more consistent heat wise. I can not at this time afford a pid for it. (See I have already been doing some reading )

Links are great. I just have no clue where to even start

Try the search feature at the top of the page. Judging by your smoker selection I would guess you are on a tight budget. Here is another smoker you might want to consider.

https://www.smokingmeatforums.com/threads/smoke-hollow-smoke-tronix.256735/
That smoker is a little too expensive. I' looking at 200 or less. I know I won't get a great smoker for that price. I will upgrade later. This is something I like to do. As for the search function I've tried. I just don't know exactly what I am looking for.