Help with choosing new budget smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bamapig

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jan 16, 2010
I have a char griller that ive been using for almost 8 years now. Smoked a lot of good stuff on there. But now im ready to purchase a new one. It had the offset smoke box so I have no problem using sticks and charcoal but it became a big hassle constantly fighting to keep it at proper temp. Long smokes the box would fill with ashes and choke itself out and as much as its been used the smoker is getting rough shape wise. The budget is around 400 bucks.

So kinda looking around and came across pellet smokers. I kinda felt like it was cheating but now im a little older and it would be nice to set it and forget it so to speak. But ive seen about half of the reviews saying it doesnt have the smoke flavor and imparts a light smokey flavor. That wont do. It seems very convenient with the meat probes (I already use a maverick et 73 thermometer). Can anyone shed some light on this? Ive always went by the thin blue smoke rule and always had great flavor. Was looking at the traeger 20-22 or cheaper variant.

Next i was looking at the webber smokey mountain and the dyna glo off set smoker. I like the design of the dyna glo much better but the webber seems to be made of thicker and better materials. Ive never used a vertical barrel smoker but im not opposed to it i just need to be sure that i can fit 2 racks of ribs at least on there at a time to smoke. i want to not have to baby it as much as i have been with the char griller. What say the experts? Any other suggestions?