Hello from South Texas

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

whittlinsam

Original poster
May 7, 2012
South Texas
I have already found a lot of useful information in the forum.    I have been smoking meat for a few years and just bought my 4th smoker.    I started with a little charcoal one which didn't have a way to get air to the coals so they didn't burn.   Then a small bullet electric, which did okay except there was no temperature control.    Next came a wood/charcoal pit with a side burner.    It works well except it needs constant care and feeding.     I have smoked brisket, ribs, salmon, chicken, turkey, and cheese with pretty good success.

I ordered a MES 30" digital today from Walmart after the price dropped.     I went with the 20070910 after reading the postings on it and I have a friend with one who really likes it.    I have been looking for sometime and debating between electric and propane.    But with our South Texas winds, I was afraid the propane would blow out too easily.    It should arrive next week sometime and I have a pork butt in the freezer waiting for it.    And I am hoping that briskets will go on sale for Mother's Day.    

Thank you so much for joining the forum and welcome!  Please enjoy and there's a lot of tips and we are all glad to help in any way we can!  There is a waiting time for posting pics, but we will try to get everything cleared for you to do so!  Never hesitate to ask questions, we want you to have great smokes!

welcome1.gif
 South Texas!