Heating source for large smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

tdnelk

Original poster
Dec 3, 2020
Hi all, im new to smoking meat forums and have a question. I'm building a large smoker- 52 in by 52 in by 7 ft tall. I am looking at propane heat and want to set it up with digital automatic heat control. Does anyone have any information on where to buy that type of setup or have any experience putting one in? Thanks for any information. Tim

it may (probably will) get to expensive and beat the purpose of having joy and fun smoking meat... Automatic propane/natural gas heat control and you are start getting yourself in to building fully automated furnace with smoke problem...
Indaswamp beat me posting ahead... lol...yeah... pricey...
For that size you can go electrical setup route using two dryer heaters and then install auto control... depended on are u ok with KW/hr price...

Last edited:
I have one of these in a 3x3x7. Put under 1/4" steel plate table, put sawdust on top of plate for smoke. Works good...
20181108_132429.jpg 20181108_132349.jpg

Reactions: dernektambura
I have one of these in a 3x3x7. Put under 1/4" steel plate table, put sawdust on top of plate for smoke. Works good...
View attachment 473492 View attachment 473493
what I would suggest sir is to build frame above your "fire pit" and install wet furnace filters... filters will catch all impurities and hold relative humidity at proper level at smoking...

what I would suggest sir is to build frame above your "fire pit" and install wet furnace filters... filters will catch all impurities and hold relative humidity at proper level at smoking...