• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Had a little spare time to work on my reverse flow's

morkdach

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
2,255
13
Joined Apr 8, 2007
Wow Tom ya got it going.

I have a 160 gal S.S reverse flow going did not follow any calcs on rf plate or intake/exhaust sizeings as i should have I have fired it twice for seasoning and max temp was 207° have pics of the build and will do a thread on it once i get it doing what it is supposed to do
.

I also built a 24" bench break not quite a heavy as yours and a 12" roll.

Keep us posted on the build and looking foward to duckkillers build
 

sawruff

Fire Starter
65
11
Joined Apr 19, 2010
those are looking  good man i wish i the tools it would make my builds go a lot easier all i got is a wielder and a grinder u do width what u got thats what i do

    scott
 

tom37

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
1,649
21
Joined Sep 24, 2009
Tom, that build looks great. That is real close to what I want to build. Did you say you found the pipe laying around your work? One of the things holding me up is trying to find the steel to build with.

Can't wait to see it finished.
Yes I did get it from work. I wish I could say that there was another there right now, cause I would help ya out and get ya rollin. The bad news is we never know what is going to be in the junk bin each day. I watch it on a regular basis, I passed up a 8" dia piece of gas pipe awhile back cause I figured I would never use anything that small of dia. But now I wish I had it since I need to make wheels for my 2 rigs that are in the works right now. If I come across anything that looks like it may work I will let ya know.  What part of town are ya in?

Thanks morkdach,

How far off the calc numbers are ya? I could be wrong but maybe the SS is dissipating the heat a little faster then mild steel. I would love to see the pics of your build, what process did you use to weld it together. I welded up an accessory tray on my drum that was stainless. Welded it with 308 rod in my stick burner, it was my first dealings with stainless but I actually liked the way it ran, and also with the way it turned out. I have a stainless co2 tank that 1/4" wall, waiting for a future build. Any chance you may share a pic or two of the roll you built? I want one but just not sure what type I want.
those are looking  good man i wish i the tools it would make my builds go a lot easier all i got is a wielder and a grinder u do width what u got thats what i do

    scott
When I decided that I had a welding hobby, I was in the same spot as you are. One grinder and one welder. Its not all bad man, if you use these type of wheels.



These have the threads built into the wheel, instead of having to put the wheel on and then put the retaining nut on.

This can be handy if you have only one grinder and need to change from one wheel to another. Even now with all my stuff I often reach for the grinder with a cut-off wheel in it. I use the metabo slicer and super slicer cut-off wheels.

In your build thread it looked like you are using flux-core wire. What size and what welder are you using?
 workoutchamp

wow!  fab job!!!
Thanks man, its always a great feeling to hear nice things about a build.
 

sawruff

Fire Starter
65
11
Joined Apr 19, 2010
I'm using  .035 flex   Lincoln electric weld-pak 100 i think that it  i got from my job I'm a trash man someone thought it was garbage i clean it out work ok had to use it on d then put 30amp out the my work spot and now can't go above b
 

tom37

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
1,649
21
Joined Sep 24, 2009
Awesome deal on the free welder saw, can't beat a deal like that.

You may try some .030 next time you buy wire, I have better luck with the thinner wire when I get down in the lower half of my settings on my MillerMatic 211.

Ok, you use to be able to weld on a higher setting and now that you have a 30 amp service to the work area you can only go half as high on the settings?

That welder should only need a 20 amp circuit. How far is the work area from the breaker box?
 

kcbluesnbbq

Meat Mopper
252
10
Joined Aug 7, 2010
Yes I did get it from work. I wish I could say that there was another there right now, cause I would help ya out and get ya rollin. The bad news is we never know what is going to be in the junk bin each day. I watch it on a regular basis, I passed up a 8" dia piece of gas pipe awhile back cause I figured I would never use anything that small of dia. But now I wish I had it since I need to make wheels for my 2 rigs that are in the works right now. If I come across anything that looks like it may work I will let ya know.  What part of town are ya in?
I am near 40 hwy and Noland, can almost throw a rock to Independence from my yard. I work at a body shop and get some usefull stuff every now and then.

On the subject of welders, I have a Lincoln SP100, .030 wire, using a mix of 75% argon, 25% co2. Put in a dedicated 20 amp circuit just for the welder. Will weld 1/4 inch easily, or turn down and weld thin auto sheetmetal.

Looking forward to seeing your finished smoker.
 

sawruff

Fire Starter
65
11
Joined Apr 19, 2010
well be for it was on a 15 amp i kept poping it would kill a hold wall in the house so i put the 30amp in its about tolled 22ft away or so go in to a sub box that has a 20 and 15 in it  well that why to me its working better now then be for the 15 it was on was not dirrect to the welder now i have a 20 just for it if that help what i was trying to say  

               Scott SAWRUFF
 

tom37

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
1,649
21
Joined Sep 24, 2009
My bad Scott, I thought you were saying that the welder did better before the change. LOL

Just a note to anyone that has the small migs, if you can and want to run solid wire and gas,,,,

co2 is a good option, price is pretty good and you will also get just a little hotter weld and let you burn in just a little more. Clean up is almost like c25 gas with just a tiny bit more splatter. I actually prefere the co2 over c25 mix, but I want a bigger bottle.

For anyone looking to go to gas, hobart has a nice retro kit that sets you up on co2 right from the get go. If anyone wants the link PM me and I will go find it.

Hey KC your really close lol. I'm right off lee summit rd close to 23. One of these days I will have to fire up the rig and get ya to drop by for a rib or two, with hopes the ribs may cover the consulting fee when I ask your opinion of what I should do with my blazer that my daughter rolled. Looks like a fat kid sat on the roof. LOL. A really fat kid. Fender and hood is no big deal, I'm just not sure if the roof is worth fixin.
 

turn4fun

Fire Starter
58
10
Joined Jul 1, 2010
Wow, you're pretty much right around the corner from me then Tom.  I'm within rock throwing distance from Benton elementary.  

I've seen that co2 kit you are talking about and I'm thinking about getting one.  I've only run flux core in my machine.  I have a small Campbell-Hausfeld mig/flux 115.  Everytime I have myself talked into switching to gas I can't make myself spend the $$ on a tank.  I looked at the Hobart kit at Feldman's but they wanted $115.  Just found it on Amazon.com for $55 with free shipping, that's a little more do-able.    
 

kcbluesnbbq

Meat Mopper
252
10
Joined Aug 7, 2010
Hey Tom, that sounds like a good deal to me. Been feeding too many ribs to make the kid fat? Send me a message anytime you need something like that.
 

duck killer 1

Smoking Fanatic
SMF Premier Member
387
12
Joined Nov 22, 2009
Wow Tom ya got it going.

I have a 160 gal S.S reverse flow going did not follow any calcs on rf plate or intake/exhaust sizeings as i should have I have fired it twice for seasoning and max temp was 207° have pics of the build and will do a thread on it once i get it doing what it is supposed to do
.

I also built a 24" bench break not quite a heavy as yours and a 12" roll.

Keep us posted on the build and looking foward to duckkillers build
wow! you got to post some pics of your progress on your SS build! do you have a thread going? also i will get the ball rollin on my builds this weekend maybe even friday.
 

tom37

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
1,649
21
Joined Sep 24, 2009
Wow, you're pretty much right around the corner from me then Tom.  I'm within rock throwing distance from Benton elementary.  

I've seen that co2 kit you are talking about and I'm thinking about getting one.  I've only run flux core in my machine.  I have a small Campbell-Hausfeld mig/flux 115.  Everytime I have myself talked into switching to gas I can't make myself spend the $$ on a tank.  I looked at the Hobart kit at Feldman's but they wanted $115.  Just found it on Amazon.com for $55 with free shipping, that's a little more do-able.    
If you want to try your machine out on co2, you can pm me and we will figure a time and you can bring your little mig over and we will put my co2 tank on it and you can see how it preforms before you actually spend the money. I picked up a co2 tank 20 lb on craigs list awhile back for 30 bucks and Air-Gas on truman will trade it out for a full one for under 20 bucks I believe. I would have to check and see if there is an adapter to go from the hobart kit (20 oz) bottle to a regulator on a big bottle.

I think this is setup with a fixed pressure setting, and may be a little on the low side for welding outdoors. But I still want one just so I could be a little more on the portable side.



 
Hey Tom, that sounds like a good deal to me. Been feeding too many ribs to make the kid fat? Send me a message anytime you need something like that.
Thanks man I really appreciate it. What is the optimum size smoker you are thinking about, I may have a lead on a tank and fire box.


 
wow! you got to post some pics of your progress on your SS build! do you have a thread going? also i will get the ball rollin on my builds this weekend maybe even friday.
Yup what he said, heck even if things arn't going as planned we still wanna see. Thats the best part of this site, we see the good and the not so good, that way we all learn. I need all the stainless ideas I can get before I start my build.
 
 

kcbluesnbbq

Meat Mopper
252
10
Joined Aug 7, 2010
Thanks man I really appreciate it. What is the optimum size smoker you are thinking about, I may have a lead on a tank and fire box.


 
I was looking for a tank in the 4 to 5 foot length range, maybe 24 inch diameter. I am pretty flexible on size, just don't want to get to big. Want something I can get in the backyard, but be able to take places. I have a small trailer and want to build the smoker so that it can be loaded on and off trailer with my engine hoist.
 
 

tom37

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
1,649
21
Joined Sep 24, 2009
Ok, I'm on the lookout. The tank I was thinking about is probably 24" dia but only about 30 " long if that. I may have another piece if I can get ahold of a friend.

Sorry I havn't had any progress on my build, I'v been working a little late this week and I'm begining to get wore down. Hopefully I can get some good time in on it this weekend.
 

kcbluesnbbq

Meat Mopper
252
10
Joined Aug 7, 2010
That would be great. Nice thing about metal, you can always add more to it. Thanks for helping.

This heat has got me beat. I get home at night and nothing gets done, so I feel your pain.
 

morkdach

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
2,255
13
Joined Apr 8, 2007
Tom here is some pics of my roll.

Sorry i still can not post pics on this site off of photo bucket.

Yes duck killer I will post my build.

<a href="http://s264.photobucket.com/albums/ii194/morkdach/roller/?action=view&current=DSC01549.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii194/morkdach/roller/DSC01549.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket"></a>

<a href="http://s264.photobucket.com/albums/ii194/morkdach/roller/?action=view&current=DSC01548.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii194/morkdach/roller/DSC01548.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket"></a>

<a href="http://s264.photobucket.com/albums/ii194/morkdach/roller/?action=view&current=DSC01545.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii194/morkdach/roller/DSC01545.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket"></a>
 

tom37

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
1,649
21
Joined Sep 24, 2009
Thanks morkdach, I appreciate the pics. I see the reduction in gear going down to what looks like the under side of the table. Is this going to a motorized power source?

Since the site upgrade when I click on a pic that I have not already resized it acts as if it wants to lock up but then it proceeds on to the next screen. So far no troubles other then a little slow once in a while.
 

morkdach

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
2,255
13
Joined Apr 8, 2007
there is a 60 to 1 gearbox with a ¾ hp motor . I run a foot control on it and a reversing switch.

Do you use Photo bucket for your pics or just download off of your pc.
 

tom37

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
1,649
21
Joined Sep 24, 2009
I do have photobucket but hardly use it. Most of the time I upload to Picasa hosting site and go from there. With picasa I can just highlight the ones I want to the web and click sync to web and there on there way.  I will have to watch for a reduction box in my travels.

Now that I have an idea of the roller in my head all I need to do is find someone I can pay to turn the rollers down when I locate a suitable piece of solid stock.
 

Latest posts

Hot Threads

Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.