Greetings from California's Central Coast

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

drgonzo2k2

Original poster
Jun 14, 2017
Santa Cruz, CA
Hey Gang!  You can call me Doc!  I live in Santa Cruz, California, and I work in the tech industry.  My wife, 2 kids, 2 dogs, and 3 cats share this little slice of paradise we call home here.  My main hobby is home brewing, and I actually got introduced to smoking meat from the Home Brew Talk forums, where I'm pretty active and an editor for their front page articles.

I was browsing new posts one day and came across a "Who's Smoking Meat This Weekend" thread, and the title made me chuckle because I pictured people talking about rolling up and somehow smoking meat like a cigarette or joint or something.  When I clicked through I didn't find any of that, but did come across lots of pics that got my mouth watering, and I had to learn more.

So after doing lots of research on here, other forums, product reviews, and so on I settled on buying a Rec-Tec 680.  My research led me to believe it was the best $1000 you could spend on a smoker, and now that I've had it for a month or so, I would happily recommend these grills to anyone that in the market for such a thing.

Here's a couple of pics of my new baby all setup in our back yard next to my Weber Genesis E-330 "gasser" as I've learned they're called.

The first thing I did once I got it put together was some pig candy of course:

Of course I had to do some ribs very shortly after.  Here they are all rubbed up and ready to go.  I used three different rubs that I had.  Two were in a gift set from Penzey's spices that my wife got me (Galena St. and BBQ 3000), and the third was a batch of Jeff's rub that I made up.