Got my WSM yesterday....Dry run tonight with Bacon ( and I am new to charcoal)

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

huntjl

Original poster
Jan 12, 2014
Hey guys, been browsing the site now for 3 weeks. I was fencing between an MES and the 18" WSM.....got the wsm yesterday. I did the Harry shoo method of "burning off and Manufatures residue" and just lit a full chimney, threw it in with all vents wide open and let her burn. I did throw some cold coals on top of the hot and noticed the wsm was poring out smoke( no wood just charcoal burning) and assumed it was just the unlit coals catchingup and igniting. Once all were lit and it was at 325+ no smoke coming from the wsm.

I am using royal oak lump by the way

I am currently doing a test run with the Minion method and noticed that it is poring out the same smoke.(hot coals igniting the cold ones)

Is this to be expected? Just seems like the meat will absorb way to much of the unlit charcoal smoke.

I am an hour in and it is holding temps around 237 f. I have 2 vents closed and one open maybe 10%, not much at all. Still just wondering about the smoke from charcoal as I am new to it.

No , don't worry about "unlit" charcoal smoke. I don't believe there's any such thing.The minion method works fine and your food will taste great. I've been using the WSM for a couple years now and I always go minion and it works fine.
:grilling_smilie:

Last edited: