Gonna try my new smoker tomorrow!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

NGRIdave

Original poster
Apr 12, 2021
Cincinnati,Ohio
Got a brand new PBV4PS2 and gonna do the burn in tomorrow and see how it goes. Plan on doing some chicken,ribs,12lbs butt and some sausage! (over 3 days) I finally got 4 days off in a row so I thought this would be a good time to play with it!
Any tips on the burn in? I've watched some videos and seems pretty simple, but if it can go wrong it WILL happen to me! I got a InkBird 6XS for temps so I think I'm ready. How much pellets should I put in her to start the burn in? I've had a Maserbulit before and it used chips and I could run that thing blind but this is my first time with a pellet smoker. I did notice that the Ash clean out tray don't sit flush against the unit. It sticks out bout a quarter inch. I've tried to push her all the way ion but it stops just before closing all the way and wont go any further. Is this a problem? Thanks for the help all!
Dave

Reactions: mike243
Got a brand new PBV4PS2 and gonna do the burn in tomorrow and see how it goes. Plan on doing some chicken,ribs,12lbs butt and some sausage! (over 3 days) I finally got 4 days off in a row so I thought this would be a good time to play with it!