Going to smoke a 14 lb Pork Shoulder

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

christophcbv

Fire Starter
Original poster
Sep 3, 2013
I am relatively new to this as well and have a party Saturday and I'm cooking a 14lb pork shoulder for pulled pork. After reading a lot of threads and checking with my trusty neighbour, this appears to be a very long process as most bank on approx 90 min per pound. Thoughts as to how to do this, or break it up, are needed to help me. I've looked at smoking Fri until at 165 deg, (timing it to approx 11pm-12am), then putting it in the oven at 225 (wrapped in foil in a roast pan) until it reaches approx. 205 deg (over night ideally when I wake up) at which time I will wrap in towels as suggested and place in a cooler for an hr or 2 then start pulling... This is my first rough idea... thoughts are welcomed and appreciated. Please suggest away as the only things I have done so far are ribs and pork sirloin, so this one is longer and a bit more in depth.

Thanks and look fwd to hearing some responses.

I've done 13 lbs I think if you are planning on 225 I did better at 250-260 averaged under 1 and half. Personally when I've cooked in the 225 range it just drags on but in the 250s it seem to move better. Just my thoughts good luck.

I figure I would be between 225-250.  So I'm guessing with your response and what not, I'm pretty bang on with the timings and stuff?  How long usually to get it to the 165 deg?  Is that a good plan of action that I laid out above in your opinion?

Thanks.