Food Biker - Hello from Boston!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

foodbiker

Original poster
Sep 1, 2021
Boston, MA
Hey there – Seth (Food Biker) here, and just wanted to introduce myself. I’ve been a culinary professional for 12+ years; some people call me a chef (call me whatever you want, but just don’t call me late for dinner). It’s nice to meet you all.

On to the Q. Living in Boston (specifically Cambridge) in a rental apartment has unfortunately forced me to curtail my smoking activities over the past two decades outside of propane grilling, but I’m finally getting back into smoking again. One of my final projects at Le Cordon Bleu Boston years back was a cold smoker I built using a soldering iron, which worked great. Back in Ohio in the ‘90s, I used to have a Brinkmann propane bullet smoker (which was stolen off my front porch), followed by a charcoal Brinkmann bullet. Both turned out great results, but I can’t really do either on my apartment balcony and unfortunately don’t have the time as I did when I was younger. We used an electric smoker back in culinary school (likely a Cookshack), which turned out a ridiculously amazing pastrami…so the magic of a stainless steel electric smoker with latches and minus a water pan -- that's always been on my wish list.