First time smoking a ham.. need input

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Hethercass1

Original poster
Jan 17, 2018
This is my first time smoking a ham and there are so many different ways to do it, I need some input on how to get the results I'm looking for.

I have a 7.4lb green ham. Uncured, unsmoked, uncooked, skin off and bone out. I'm looking to slice this into lunch meat as a final result. How should I go about smoking this? Should I cure? Brine? Inject? Any input will really help. I'm new to smoking. Thanks!

This is my first time smoking a ham and there are so many different ways to do it, I need some input on how to get the results I'm looking for.

I have a 7.4lb green ham. Uncured, unsmoked, uncooked, skin off and bone out. I'm looking to slice this into lunch meat as a final result. How should I go about smoking this? Should I cure? Brine? Inject? Any input will really help. I'm new to smoking. Thanks!

Here is a link with more links inside
Richie
https://www.smokingmeatforums.com/threads/fresh-picnic-to-ham-daveomak-style.271820/#post-1789636

Hi there and welcome!

tropics is steering you in the right direction with that link.

I'm no ham guru having only done it once but I will share what I know. Here is my post on doing wild hog hams that were like like 4 pounds each and about 6 pounds of meat once smoked and deboned :)
https://www.smokingmeatforums.com/threads/feral-hog-hams-for-thanksgiving-with-qview.270690/

In short you will want to cure the ham which means using the appropriate amount of cure #1 (1/4 teaspoon per pound) along with salt, sugar, etc. etc. and letting it sit for the appropriate number of days so the cure penetrates completely through the ham meat.