First time bacon, curing time question, double check me.....

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

arn24

Original poster
Apr 8, 2017
Windsor, CO
Morning all!

Decided to try my hand at making bacon.  The cure time is supposed to be over today, so I thought I'd better run everything by you guys before I get too far.

Here's the process so far:

Bought a 9lb belly at Costco.  I didn't pay much attention to picking out the 'best looking' one, I grabbed the cheapest since it's my first attempt.  After cutting it in half, it looks a little light on meat, but should still be better than the store bought stuff.

View media item 527788
I used this to calculate my cure.  Comparing what I had to spread on my belly to the photos I see on here, it seemed like I didn't have enough.  I've seen photos on here where it looks like there's a 1/4" of rub covering the entire belly; I had to apply mine very carefully to make sure I could cover everything.  I did use brown sugar instead of regular sugar, and everything was weighed out on a scale to within half a gram.

View media item 527789
View media item 527790
The instructions I am following state to use 2/3 of my rub initially, then do the fridge flip/flop thing for 3-4 days, then drain the bags and apply the balance of the rub.  Then back to the fridge, flipping every day, for another 10 days for a total of 14 days (7 days per inch of belly thickness, right?).  When I pulled them out after 4 days, there wasn't enough liquid to pour out.  I'm not necessarily worried about this as I know every belly has a different moister content, but I expected more.

View media item 527791
It's now day 14.  Still not much moisture.  No smell though.

View media item 527792