First Spare Ribs with 3-2-1 method w/Qview

Discussion in 'Pork' started by smokeysooner, Nov 20, 2010.

1. smokeysooner

smokeysooner Fire Starter

Hey guys!

I am a newb to this forum but have been smoking meats successfully for many moons.  I always thought I had the best way to smoke spare ribs but I'm never too foolish to think that a new method or technique can't help and the 3-2-1 method is just talked about too much to NOT try!  As always, this was done on a Weber 22.5 grill, and I don't need a damn thing else. 

So here goes...

Got a lovely rack of spares and rubbed' 'em up and let them sit overnight.  I usually score a diamond pattern on both sides but decided not to on this occasion.  I used a mixture of apple and pecan wood with a little pear wood too, but only a few scraps.

Here is the slab going on for start of 3-2-1.

[​IMG]

Here is an hour into the process.. spritzing with AJ/EVO/ACV/local honey mixture and cooking at a steady 240F

[​IMG]

starting to take on some nice smoke after 2 hour

[​IMG]

and then this the last spritzing before hitting the foil

[​IMG]

and now what seems to be the longest part of the process...

Why am I not doing this in the oven?

[​IMG]

Probably only going to do 1.5 hours in foil because I do like some texture to the meat...

and I'll post an update when they're done!  Hope everyone is enjoying their Saturday... we're getting ready for a football game here in Norman.  Boomer Sooner!

Bon appetit!

2. Sure does look good!  Hope the ribs turn out for you.  Boomer Sooner!!

3. smokeysooner

Hey thanks, bud!  Boomer Sooner to you too!

Here is the rack of ribs going on for the final hour...

[​IMG]

4. smokeysooner

Here we are all done and time to rest up... will cooler for an hour then slice around game time.

Smells yummy, hopefully not over... I pulled from foil after 1.25 hours and pulled from grill after .75 hours because this was a bit smaller rack.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Nov 20, 2010
  5. realtorterry