First smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

redrocker65200

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Oct 15, 2015
South San Francisco, ca
My wife just gave me my first smoker. It is a smoke vault 18. It is propane, which was not my first choice, but what the heck. I have never done this before so i am sure there is going to be a learning curve. Anybody got any such suggestions for a newbie on how to ease into this? Also i must tell you all that i am a very simple guy. My hope is that i can set it, put the meat in, wnd enjoy a beef or 3 while the smoker does most of the work.

Thanks all, looking forward to the comments and suggestions.

Last edited:
I've had a propane smoker for over ten years now. I'd recommend getting a tube smoker from one of the sponsors here, Amaze N Smokers. I'd get the new expanding one. It's really the best method of producing smoke in a propane smoker.

Use the search feature here and look up "needle valve mod". If you have problems controlling temps you may need to install one.
I have one installed on my smoker and I can easily control the temps anywhere as low as 120 to a high of 500+

I prefer a dry smoke chamber and do not fill the water pan with water. I wrap it in foil for easy clean up and leave it dry.

Wind is your worst enemy. Shielding the air intakes with a simple plywood screen helps.

Leave your exhaust vent wide open when smoking. Stale smoke makes for bad Q!

yeahthat.gif

yeahthat.gif