First slab smoked

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

X madmax diesel

Original poster
Apr 14, 2018
hey Guys I have smoked my first slab for 10 hours over hickory. I’m pretty new to smoking but I used amazn smoker after failed attempts at hot smoking years ago with deer jerky. Anyways my slab has like an oil on it if I touch it and it tastes bitter licking my fingers after! I’m afraid that might be creosote and ruined it again lol. Should I wipe it off or is that normal?? I have aged the slab for 3 days in the fridge at 40 degrees. Upon research I think it should have been done closer to 60 or 70 degrees????

I’m new to this stuff and made the same mistakes. Here’s what I’d do, but take it with a grain of salt as I’m no expert.

Sounds like creosote, will be very difficult to fix, but don’t toss it. I’d rinse it off with bourbon, that will help cut the oil. Do it over a casserole dish to catch the liqour. Pour a little on rub it all over, dip it back in the casserole pan. Then dump it out and repeat a few times, shouldn’t use more than a cup that way. Also, maybe wipe a little maple syrup on there, the sweet will help cut the bitter. The smoke will dissipate over time too, wrap it in butcher paper so it breathes and let it go a couple weeks.

Can you explain your whole process from start to finish, including the ingredients you used in the cure. Most of us cure the bacon for 2 weeks, if you only did it for 3 days then it's not cured properly. When using curing salt you need exact amounts & time frames to make sure you don't get sick. There are hundreds of bacon threads on here to look at. Here is one I did not too long ago.
https://www.smokingmeatforums.com/threads/berkshire-hog-belly-bacon.271069/
Hope this helps!
Al