FAVORITE JERKY MARINADES?? Please share yours!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mdbannister

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Dec 5, 2017
Hey guys, I'm starting this thread as a place where we can post our favorite jerky marinade recipes. I'm hoping it becomes a quick reference guide for finding lots of different ideas in one place.

I'm new to making jerky, so I don't have much to contribute to this conversation, but I am definitely interested in what you guys might share. :D

I'll go ahead and throw in a recipe I'm still experimenting with that's based on my attempt documented here: https://smokingmeatforums.com/threa...rst-attempt-critiques-tips-are-welcome.270819

1.jpg

Based on the above, my next batch will be this honey/sriracha marinade recipe:

Marinade:
  • 1/2 cup sriracha
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • Cure #1 as needed
(Reduce marinade before using)
Marinate meat for 24-48 hours, then add Honey Sriracha seasoning by McCormick to meat before smoking.

1.jpeg

I'm also thinking I'll try this Dr. Pepper/Jalapeño recipe in short order: https://heygrillhey.com/recipe/dr-pepper-jalapeno-beef-jerky/

What are some other good recipes to try?

This is what I've been using. It is a combination of various recipes I've tried. Works quite well, with or without smoke.

For ten pounds of ¼" sliced beef. Use ¼ recipe for 1½ - 2 pounds.

Use London broil, top round, or flank steak. Must be lean.

Amounts for both Full and One-Quarter recipe are shown below.

Beef Jerky

Full Recipe
1 cup soy sauce
1 cup worcestershire sauce
¼ cup tabasco
3 tablespoons kosher salt
1 tablespoon onion powder
1 tablespoon garlic powder
1 tablespoon black pepper, ground to taste