curing for cold smoking

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bugeye

Original poster
Nov 16, 2017
I am looking for a little help with curing a 12 lb piece of pork leg. I used the formula

(ppm)(meat weight)/(Sodium nitrite in cure)(1,000,000)

(650)(12lbs)/(.01)(1,000,000)

7800/10000 = .78lbs or 12.48ozs

I was trying to use Morton Quick cure and it has 0.5% nitrate and 0.5% nitrite. I added the two together because the nitrate will convert to nitrite. My question or problem is this does not match the instructions on the bag of Morton Quick cure. The formula above calls for a lot more cure. The bag also says it only takes a few days. All the other reading I’ve found says it should take about 3 days per pound. This is my first attempt and would appreciate and help. Thanks.

Morning.... You are mixing apple and oranges... You can't use a cure#1 calculation for MTQ...

A calculation that makes sense is.... convert the weight to grams...
12 x 454 = 5,448 grams of pig.. x 0.000150 to get to 150 Ppm = 0.812 grams of nitrite needed... div. by the nitrite %concentration in your cure... 162 grams of TQ (0.5% = 0.005) or 3% TQ needed (maximum)... cure #1 6.25% (0.0625) = 13 grams cure #1 (maximum).. weight of the meat add 1.13 grams cure #1 per pound...

NitrAte takes months to convert to nitrite... It needs bacteria and temps of ~ 50 deg. F... It is not taken into consideration during initial calculations using cure #2...

May I suggest you use cure#1 and skip the TQ..

Also, may I suggest you try my injection method... you can cure a pig leg in 6 ish days and there's no guessing...
http://smokingmeatforums.com/index.php?threads/ham-from-fresh-picnics-update-10-21-money.236375/