Crescor Vertical Smoker Build

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Smoking in Wisconsin

Original poster
Nov 25, 2017
Waukesha
Hello everybody-
I just scored a large insulated crescore electric food warmer from work. I am a chef by trade, yet a pretty novice smoker. Live in Wisconsin and would like to build a versatile smoker that can achieve a couple goals:
  1. Cold smoking in the winter months-bacon/hams/sausages
  2. And be able to hot smoke/slow and low BBQ in the summer- brisket/chickens/butts
I have some experience using alto sham electric smokers and MES in the past with pretty acceptable results, yet I want to take my home smoking to the next level and see the conversion of this baby as my key! But I need HELP...lots of help, specifically with some advice on the final designs. My head is spinning with just too many ideas and need to narrow them down. Here is a list of a couple of features/options I'm thinking about and was hoping everyone could weigh in on pros/cons or personal experience that may help me settle down on some final plans, I am not married to any specific idea, but just looking for some solid advice on which way to roll:

Heat source:
  1. Build off-set heat box to provide heat and smoke source using large pieces of wood/charcoal
  • I like this idea first but am not sure how large the fire box needs to be to provide adequate heat/smoke? Also-I'm a little hesitant from a time management standpoint, I don't want to get stuck babysitting this all day.
  • Any thoughts on converting an old wood burner stove to achieve same results? Potentially using a flexible connector to create a longer run when cold smoking? Then shorten it up or butt it up directly to vertical box for maximum heat output?