Couple Questions with a Masterbuilt Pro Dual Fuel Smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

trillo15

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jul 1, 2017
Northern BC, Canada
Hey Everyone,

Just a quick couple questions. I have a Masterbuilt Pro Dual Fuel Smoker, and it has been a learning curve for sure. The only mods that I have done is adding a cast iron pan for the chips (sits on top of the old one) and I currently have it wrapped in reflextec insulation (its -25 currently up here in northern Canada. Here are some things that I have noticed.

With the mods, I have found it next to impossible to get smoke from my chips when below 275. The pan does not seem to get hot enough, so alot of my recent cooks have been at 275-300. Mind you, the chicken and pork loin that I have done, turned out really good.

I have also noticed that today I have quite a bit of smoke. Not the thin wisps of blue that your looking for. It has a blue tinge, but alot of white. What is causing the white smoke? I have my vents all open to maximize air flow.

Any suggestions would help!

Thanks

Maybe bottom vents don't need to be open any further than what is needed to keep the flame going. I see some people do play with the placement of the chip or chunk tray. Some people raise it or lower it. I don't have one of these but so many people have delt with what you are having trouble with. You can use chunks to start. They burn less quickly and longer I think.

You'll get it smoothed out . Hope you keep at it. Good luck..

I have the 30" MB duel fuel.