Control Panel Blues

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

chazcampton

Original poster
Aug 17, 2020
Hey all I am new here. I am an avid smoker but I am looking for help from the pros. My Masterbuilt 20078715 control panel is no longer working. It will turn on, but I can’t adjust the time or temp. (I got it really wet with a hose) Is anyone able to assist? I have been checking master built’s website since March 2020 for replacement control panel and it has been out of stock ever since. The part is 9007140017 - Digital Control. If I can’t find a replacement control panel, is there an after market solution to this? Everything works fine and I hate to throw it away! Please help! (I took it apart and tried to dry it out but it didn’t help)

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    124.9 KB · Views: 52
Last edited:
This is the point where most would switch to PID controller. The most popular in these parts is here https://www.auberins.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=14_28&products_id=110
Bare in mind this model allows programming for multi-temp cooks, which are great for many cooks.

Auber and others offer cheaper models that are not plug and play and will only do one temp at a time(much like the original controller). You will have to source components and complete yourself. Usually the final cost will be as much as just buying the afore- mentioned product.

On first thought it seems stupid to spend $180 to fix a $180 smoker, but what you are actually doing is turning boat anchor smoker (nearly worthless at this point) into a smoker comparable to a $600 (or more) smoker for a $180 investment. Plus the added benefit of lots of knowledgeable folks around here for support should you need it.