Coney Bratwurst

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

browner010

Original poster
Mar 25, 2018
Superior Wi.
I've been mulling over making Coney Island Bratwursts for a couple years, so I finally broke down and did it. To me they were good but just not quit there. All I did was mix my coney seasoning recipe with my bratwurst seasoning recipe with some salt adjustment and mixed it into the meat. Has anyone else tried to make this?

Last edited:
Haven't tried this. But I do remember Coney island hots and a big cup of fries with pub vinegar. Or, are you talking about something else?

I'm talking about Coney Island flavored bratwurst. Instead of making a Coney sauce and putting it on the brat just add the seasonings to the brat itself. like I said it was good but it was not quite there, it was missing something.

Maybe you need more of a smoked sausage taste / texture ? I add cure 1 to my Bratwurst even if I leave them fresh . Makes a great grilled sausage . So if you are lookin for a Coney dog taste , maybe add the proper amount of cure 1 ?

Reactions: browner010
Chopsaw are you talking about the "curing salt? My bratwurst recipe doesn't call for that, is that something I should be using? I don't normally use curing salt for anything unless it's being smoked or dried.

I don't know what Coney Island brats are supposed to taste like, but adding cure to the mix will definitely change the flavor profile. Not sure if that is the flavor you are missing though.
Al

What is a coney island spice mix? I always thought it was the toppings on the dog that made it a coney.