Cold Smoking help with Gas Smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bigboy85

Original poster
Sep 9, 2015
Connecticut, USA
Hi, I have a Masterbuilt gas smoker. I'd like to be able to cold smoke with it if possible. The lowest the temp gets is about 200 degrees. Is there anything I can rig this with to drop the temp low enough? Thanks for any help.

You can't use the gas burner to make smoke for cold smoking. Many members here use AMNPS in an enclosure outside of the smoker hooked up to the smoker with a dryer duct. This enclosure can be any metal box you have in your scrap pile. Mailboxes are popular. Look up "mailbox mod".

Whoa!  atomicsmoke is correct.  If you want to cold smoke using your gasser smoker, you need to use a smoke generator such as a AMNPS or AMNTS.  Your gasser burner is not used.

I cold smoke cheese, butter, lox, etc in my Masterbuilt gasser.  No gas used.  I do not use a mailbox mod.   I simply place the AMNTS down on the tray that resides under the box below the burner.  The smoke travels up past  the burner and into the chamber.

Last edited:
Whoa!  atomicsmoke is correct.  If you want to cold smoke using your gasser smoker, you need to use a smoke generator such as a AMNPS or AMNTS.  Your gasser burner is not used.

I cold smoke cheese, butter, lox, etc in my Masterbuilt gasser.  No gas used.  I do not use a mailbox mod.   I simply place the AMNTS down on the tray that resides under the box below the burner.  The smoke travels up past  the burner and into the chamber.

I agree on that point,but if you want a 100 degree temp for like jerky you can build a burner for that

I have a propane smoker.