Burn pot filling up on Pit Boss vertical smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

CubsWIn

Original poster
Nov 23, 2021
I am still relatively new to smoking meat and I currently have 2 corned beef brisket flats in my Pit Boss vertical smoker. They have been cooking for about 8 hours, but I just noticed that the temperature in my smoker was starting to creep up. I have it set to 250, but it has reached as high as 325 and is currently sitting at 310. I opened it up and noticed a pile of pellets in the burn pot coming out the top of the burn pot., as in the attached photo. Should I be seeing a pile with a flame on top of the burn pot, or should the pellets all be contained within the burn pot? Everything was vacuumed out before this cook and completely clean, and I am using a brand new bag of pellets. Assuming I shouldn't be seeing this many pellets, what would cause them to pile up like this?

PXL_20220316_180300385.jpg

Reactions: JLeonard
You should not have a pile up. It can happen sometimes though. Did you shut it down correctly after your last cook? Did you start it up correctly? Have you tried shutting down, unplugging for 10-15sec then starting back up? Can you hear the auger running constantly? If none of these are the issue your controller might need to be replaced. Pitboss/dansons is a joy to work with and have 5yr warranty so no expense to you to replace

One of the things that most people miss is cleaning the internal temp probe located on the back wall. At this point, you'd have to shut down and remove the water pan and use a green scratchy pad to carefully clean off that probe then clean out all the pellets in the pot and return the water pan and refill etc and get it going again.