Brisket rub on pulled pork?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Kaug23

Original poster
Aug 10, 2021
For several years I've been using 4Rivers brisket rub on all sorts of stuff. My wife loves it on fried fish, chicken, and steak. I used it on an actual brisket and it was great. It's the same one they use at their restaurants.

I was thinking about using it on pulled pork, but didn't know how it would turn out. It's got a lot of pepper in it and no sugar. Would this be a bad idea? I'm new at smoking and don't want to make an obvious mistake. Any input would be appreciated.

By the way, the rub recipe was posted free online by the restaurant, and it's pretty cheap to make.

Definitely worth giving it a shot if you have already enjoyed it on several other meats. If it isn't quite what you want then you can always add something to it manually that will make it fit your favorite pork profile of flavors. Life is too short to not try new things.

G

Reactions: Kaug23
I don't think it will be bad, bit of a different flavor profile, but just on the bark mostly. If you need a touch more sweet make a sauce. ;)

Many brisket rubs are salt, pepper and cayenne. It's no secret. The secret is all in the cooking.
GIEb7.jpg

You don't have to use just one rub.... layering rubs is a method many pitmasters use. For example, I make a garlic pepper seasoning I often use as a base rub, then add a 'signature' rub on top to make the flavors pop.

When they opened a location in Tallahassee, they posted the recipe in the newspaper. I copied it down and have been making it for years.

4R Brisket Rub
Makes 1/4 cup
2 tablespoons freshly ground black
pepper
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon dried parsley
1 teaspoon oregano
1 teaspoon coarse salt