Brisket for Two: First Brisket Questions

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

hurriken

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Apr 23, 2011
Chicagoland
I have been smoking for several years, but have never tried a brisket. I have been wanting to for years so yesterday I bought an 11.5lb Prime packer. This site has enough information for me to figure out how to smoke a brisket on my WSM. I'm not to worried about that.

My problem is that the thing is humongous! All the articles and videos I see everyone is smoking the whole thing at once. I don't really want to do that because I'd have to freeze a lot of it. My experience with freezing my smokes is that it loses something in there. Can I cut this thing up in half or thirds and freeze it so that I can make a few meals out of it?

Last edited:
You can cut it if you want. Maybe separate the point from the flat. I find brisket freezes pretty well tho

Reactions: hurriken
I would separate the point from flat and then cut the flat in two and leave point intact. Usually I save my points for later smokes and I’ll smoke one 1/2 of the flat and start a dry cure with the other 1/2 for pastrami or corned beef a week later.

^^^^^^Yeah, that.^^^^^. But I would Smoke the Point and make Corned Beef and Pastrami from the Flats. The Point is more forgiving and always juicier as Texas Smoked Brisket...JJ

chef jimmyj chef jimmyj